FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE - Wednesday, May 29, 2012

Seaforth Energy's AOC 15-50 Turbine Joins Interstate Council's List of Incentive-Eligible Wind Turbines

MONTPELIER, Vt. – The Interstate Turbine Advisory Council (ITAC), a project of the Clean Energy States Alliance (CESA), has added the AOC 15-50, a small wind turbine manufactured by Seaforth Energy, to its Unified List. 

The addition marks the eighth turbine to be included on the first version of the Unified List, a list of turbines with a rotor swept area less than 200 square meters that are eligible for state incentive program funding. The Unified List was first released on May 1, 2012. 

Six ITAC-member clean energy programs across the United States, who have pooled resources to efficiently review and evaluate turbines, can adopt the Unified List: the Energy Trust of Oregon, the New York State Energy Research Development Authority, the California Energy Commission, the Massachusetts Clean Energy Center, the New Jersey Clean Energy Program, and Nevada Energy. The List provides these programs with peer-reviewed, carefully-vetted turbines that have proven safety and reliability records and third-party certified power performance. 

The latest addition to the list, Seaforth’s AOC 15-50, was initially tested by NREL in 2003. The turbine is currently completing tests at WEICan and certification by the Small Wind Certification Council. The 42 kW turbine has been placed on ITAC’s list under Conditional Status, as have five other turbines without full certification to the American Wind Energy Association (AWEA) 9.1 standards. The other turbines included in ITAC’s Unified List are the Bergey Excel 10, the Endurance S343, the Evance R9000, the Gaia 133, the Wind Turbine Industries, Corp. Jacobs 31-20, the Southwest Windpower Skystream 3.7, and the Xzeres 442SR.

ITAC, a coalition of clean energy incentive programs across the U.S., will continue to accept and review small turbine applications on a rolling basis. Specific criteria and requirements for small turbines have been developed to increase consumer confidence in small wind technology, provide consistency to public clean energy programs, and to ensure that tax- or rate-payer funding supports the installation of reliable and safe technology. 

In addition to requiring certification to the AWEA 9.1-2009 (small wind) standard, ITAC reviews manufacturers’ consumer and dealer services, marketing consistency with third-party testing, turbine operational history, turbine warranty, and manufacturers’ response to technical problems, failures, and customer complaints. The full list of requirements can be viewed here:

ITAC will be reviewing mid-sized turbines (rotor swept area greater than 200 square meters) over the upcoming months and plans to release a second version of its list in the fall of 2012. 

To view the list of ITAC small turbine requirements and the full list of qualified turbines, please visit ITAC’s webpage at


Val Stori
Project Director
Clean Energy States Alliance

50 State St., Suite 1
Montpelier, VT  05602                                                                                            

Ph: 802 223 2554
C: 802-272-8038

# # #

About Clean Energy States Alliance: Clean Energy States Alliance (CESA) is a national nonprofit organization dedicated to advancing state and local efforts to implement smart clean energy policies, programs, technology innovation, and financing tools to drive increased investment and market making.  CESA works with the leading state and public clean energy programs and provides information sharing and technical assistance to states and local governments on “best in class” clean energy programs and policies.  CESA also facilitates collaborative networks to coordinate efforts between states, federal agencies, and other stakeholders to leverage accelerated progress on deploying clean energy projects and markets.  For more information, visit